Flag of India: What it looks like, who designed it, what does it mean?


A flag is a powerful tool in uniting the people and giving them a sense of pride. It is also an important symbol of patriotism. The flag of India is a symbol of pride and honor for millions of Indians.

When was the flag of India adopted?

The flag of India was adopted on July 22, 1947, just days before the country gained independence from British rule. The flag, which features three horizontal stripes of equal size, is based on the Swaraj flag designed by Pingali Venkayya. The top stripe is orange, the middle stripe is white, and the bottom stripe is green. In the center of the flag is a blue wheel with 24 spokes, known as the Ashoka Chakra. The flag was designed to represent India’s diversity and its unity under one flag. Since its adoption, the flag has been a symbol of India’s struggle for independence and its fight for democracy. It remains an important part of Indian national identity and is flown with pride on national holidays and other special occasions.

On July 22, 1947—Independence Day in India—the Indian national flag was officially hoisted for the first time. Its stripes remained the same saffron-white-green, but instead of a spinning wheel as seen on previous flags used by Mahatma Gandhi and Jawaharlal Nehru’s Congress Party during their struggle against British rule (1930–47), they now featured an emblem representing Dharma Chakra: “The Wheel of Law.”

The Dharma Chakra, a wheel designed to symbolize the Buddhist law of cause and effect and associated with emperor Ashoka in the third century BCE, was erected on pillars throughout his empire during a time when India was attempting its first serious unification under one government. The same flag continues to be used today in India as a symbol of its sovereignty.

Who designed the Flag of India?

India’s national flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya, a freedom fighter. In 1921, he presented his design to the Indian National Congress. He wanted it to be a symbol of freedom and unity for India’s people.

Pingali hand-wove the first flag himself and presented it to Gandhi on the occasion of his sixty-ninth birthday. However, it took two years before the design was accepted as an official symbol of India’s independence movement. The flag was officially adopted by law on 22 July 1947 and was first raised in front of a mass gathering at the Red Fort in Delhi.

What does the flag of India look like?

India’s flag comprises of three colors–saffron, white and green. The flag is often referred to as the tricolor. It has three colors in horizontal bands with a white middle band. The top band is saffron color and the bottom band is green. The colors have a deep meaning for Indians. These are the main features and symbolism of the Flag of India.

The tricolor proclaims India’s commitment to its ideals in an uncompromising manner. The flag represents the ideals of equality, liberty, and fraternity as enshrined in its constitution. It has become a symbol of national unity and integrity. The national flag is also considered a sacred symbol by Indians because it features some ancient symbols such as Ashoka Chakra (the wheel) and Dharma Chakram (the wheel of righteousness).

What is the meaning behind the colors and symbols of the flag of India?

1. The saffron color symbolizes courage and sacrifice.

In the Hindu religion, saffron is the color of devotion and sac. It has also been used as a symbol of courage and sacrifice in India since ancient times. The Indian national flag carries this same symbolism by using saffron as its dominant color.

2. The white color symbolizes peace and truth.

The white color symbolizes peace and truth. This color is often seen as a symbol of purity, goodness, and innocence. It also represents hope for a brighter future.

3. The green color symbolizes faith and chivalry.

Green is one of the three colors on India’s flag.The green represents the fertility of India’s land. It symbolizes faith and chivalry.

4. There are 24 spokes in the Ashok Chakra to represent 24 hours of the day.

The Ashok Chakra is the wheel of life. Traditionally, it has 24 spokes and represents the 24 hours of the day. This can be seen in India’s flag as well, where there are 24 spokes in its Ashok Chakra. The Chakra signifies that there is life in movement and death in stagnation. It has been a symbol of India for thousands of years and represents the sun, the universe, and the planets. It is also a symbol of many other things including:

-A warrior’s weapon (or “discus”) from ancient times;

-The wheel of time;

-The cycle of creation and destruction;

5. The law states that the Indian national flag must be made from khadi-hand spun fabric.

According to Section 3(1) of the Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950, “the Indian National Flag shall be made of khadi or khadi blend and sewn on both sides of a white rectangular cloth.”

The flag of India is made of khadi for a number of reasons.

-First, khadi is a handwoven fabric that is made from cotton or wool.

-This fabric was traditionally used in India for clothing. Second, the use of khadi symbolizes Indian self-reliance and independence.

-The Indian National Congress, which fought for India’s independence from British rule, promoted the use of khadi as a way to boost the local economy and promote national pride.

The flag is thus a reflection of Indian culture and history.


The tricolor has become a symbol of national unity and integrity. It is a source of inspiration for millions of Indians. The flag represents the ideals of equality, liberty, and fraternity as enshrined in our constitution.

It also represents the aspirations and hopes of the people of India. It is a symbol of freedom struggle, an inspiration to all those who are fighting for their rights.

The flag also represents India’s cultural diversity and the fact that it is a country of many religions, languages, regions, and ethnicities. The Indian National Flag has been an inseparable part of their lives for almost 70 years now. It has become a symbol of our national identity.

Looking for Indian goods and services? Browse our directory here.

Disclaimer: The information and advice contained in our articles are intended for general informational purposes only. The content on our site does not provide any medical advice or established facts, and only reflects the opinion of writers.

India Chakra
Author: India Chakra

India chakra

Leave a Comment